Tell Someone by Greg Laurie

I can totally see why many non-Christians can find Christians judgmental. The sad truth of the matter is that there are many Christians who are. I might have written about this in another post, but I can’t remember and it’s pertinent to this book review, so I’ll write about it anyway: It drives me crazy when Christians are at either of the extremes.

At one end, we have the judgy Christians who rain down hatred and condemnation to sinners. They are quite confused. God doesn’t want us to hate sinners, he wants us to hate sin. We’re supposed to preach to nonbelievers so that they can be saved, not condemned. It’s supposed to come from a place of love and if that’s not what a person is doing, then it’s not from God.

At the other end, we have the ‘tolerant’ Christians. These people say that it doesn’t matter what you do, God loves you and you can come to Him just how you are. There is some truth in this view: God does love you. He does want you. But He does not want your sin.

God wants something in the middle of these two extremes. Ephesians 4:15 reads, “Rather, speaking the truth in love, we are to grow up in every way into Him who is the head, into Christ (ESV).” The key words here are ‘truth’ and ‘love.’ If we leave out either of these, then we are not helping these people and we are not doing what God wants of us.

This really does have to do with my book review; I promise. The book? Tell Someone by Greg Laurie. The tagline? You can share the good news. I’ll give you one guess what the book is about!

I had requested this book to review and once I got it, I wondered if maybe I should have gotten a different book instead. Would I enjoy this? Or would it be a boring read that I had to get through so that I could write my review? Answer: I loved it!

Seriously, he had me hooked before chapter one. He starts off by telling the reader his upbringing. It’s nice with these types of books to know about who is talking to you and I really enjoyed his story. He grew up with a mother who was married more than half a dozen times and was in an environment that’s not great for anyone, but especially not a kid.

But one of his mother’s husbands really made a difference in his life. This man was actually a father to him. Unfortunately, when he was still young, his mother packs him up and leaves his father who he does not see again until he is grown with a family of his own.

He then goes on to talk about his conversion which was a good read, but I really loved hearing about meeting up with his father again. Once he was a pastor with a family, he reached out and found his father. He met up with him and his new wife and talked about their lives. After hearing about what had happened in Greg’s life, the father ends up getting saved. I won’t go into the whole story, but it’s awesome and had me tearing up.

I love that he starts the book by talking about why we should tell people about Jesus. Christians know that they should, but I think it’s important to really think about why. The answer to that is because we care. We know how wonderful a relationship with God is and we want to share this with people because we care about them. We care about their life on earth, but more importantly their soul after death. If you’re evangelizing through hatred and not love, then you’re doing it wrong. God doesn’t just want us to tell people about Him, he wants us to care about them.

Later in the book he talks more about how to share Jesus, including using your personal testimony. And who does he think we should emulate in our attempts to share about salvation? Jesus! And who better than Him?

Now I have some good news for one person out there. Either later this week or next week I’ll be hosting a giveaway for Tell Someone by Greg Laurie! So be sure to check back soon and enter.

One thought on “Tell Someone by Greg Laurie

  1. Pingback: Tell Someone Giveaway – Baker Kella

Leave a Reply

