NaNoWriMo 2016

My friend talked me into doing NaNoWriMo a few days before it started and I was all for it! Unfortunately, I still don’t have a plot idea. Anyway, I was looking online for some inspiration and found something called Storymatic. It’s a really cool product that can be purchased for $29.95 from various places. It has two types of cards; one type concerning the protagonist and the other with everything else like places, incidents, etc. You pull two of each card and make a story using them.

I decided that I would make something like that on my own (I don’t really have the money to spend $30 bucks on that right now). I cut some index cards in half and started writing. For example, I just pulled out the cards Vetern, Neglected sibling, Camping trip, and Phobia. So maybe a veteran goes on a camping trip with his siblings and is still neglected. But he and one sibling get closer when he realizes that his brother has a phobia and he tries to help him through it. The fact that they both have something they have to fight finally draws them together.

Anyway, I’m going to start going through them and see if it sparks a good idea in my mind for a story I want to write. Also, I have decided that I’m going to post some I come up with that aren’t quite what I want to write on my Twitter, so feel free to use them if they spark your imagination!

Leave a Reply

