The Face of the Deep by Paul J. Pastor

The Face of the Deep

I received a free copy of this ebook from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

The Holy Spirit. He is probably the least understood of the Trinity; I know He is for me. I know bits and pieces about Him and some of the things he does, but I don’t really know a whole lot. And that is such a shame! He is the part of the Trinity that deals with us on earth. He is the one who helps make our prayers effective:

26 Likewise the Spirit helps us in our weakness. For we do not know what to pray for as we ought, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groanings too deep for words. 27 And he who searches hearts knows what is the mind of the Spirit, because[a] the Spirit intercedes for the saints according to the will of God. Romans: 8:26, 27

I very much love that last line. Not only is the Holy Spirit interceding for us, he’s interceding according to the will of God. How amazing is that! As Christians, what we should want more than what we want, is what God wants.

Anyway, all that to say that I don’t really know a whole lot about the Holy Spirit and His involvement in our lives, but I want to. And when I saw this book, I thought it would be a great opportunity to learn more about Him.

This book started off great. His writing is spectacular. Seriously, I felt like I was reading poetry, not prose. Read this description he had about the Holy Spirit:

“Nor is the Spirit somehow a second-class member of the Godhead…The Spirit is a full and vibrant person, because the Spirit is the eternal God, the Spirit both of the Father and of the Son, and as wholly God as either of the other two members of the Trinity.”

Beautiful, right? My initial thought was that I was going to really enjoy reading this entire book. Unfortunately, that wasn’t quite the case.

Don’t get me wrong, it’s not at all a bad book, but it wasn’t quite what I expected or wanted. I really wanted a more…scholarly book on the Holy Spirit with a lot of information. This book didn’t quite deliver that. It didn’t really give me much more information than I already know. Also, while the style of writing was absolutely wonderful in the beginning, it did begin to get a little bit old as I went through the book. Not so much the sound of the writing, which was still wonderful, but the fact that it took so much writing, it was very descriptive and flowery, to say one little thing. I found myself skimming to get to the point. I wish he had kept that beautiful writing, but got to the point a bit sooner.

I would be willing to read something from the author again to see if he could do what I wrote before: beautiful, but a bit more to the point. For now though, I think I’m just going to study the Holy Spirit myself with my beloved Bible.

Leave a Reply

