The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place by Julie Berry

The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place
by Julie Berry

scan sister

My dad and I went to my sister’s house for Christmas which was so much fun, but it is such a long drive. It takes us about 12 hours!!! Uck! But it’s totally worth it to see her and her family. When I’m driving, I don’t like to listen to music, I like to listen to books or audio dramas. A good book or audio drama can make the time go by so much faster. I normally pick a few new audiobooks from the library and try them out until I find one I like. This book was definitely a winner! I LOVED it, despite it being a book for middle schoolers.

I love things that are a bit…odd, and this book delivered. It was odd and wonderful! It takes place mostly at St. Etheldreda’s School for Girls; a finishing school in Victorian times. There are seven girls enrolled in the school: Smooth Kitty, Disgraceful Mary Jane, Pocked Louise, Stout Alice, Dour Elinor, Sweet…I’m trying to remember them without looking and it’s been a month since I listened to it…Sweet…Roberta? I’m going to have to look up the names: Dear Roberta and Dull Martha. And yes, they have those descriptors in front of their names for the entire book.

I wasn’t quite sure about the characters at first, but as I got to know them, I really grew to like them. Granted, it took a bit before you could remember which girl was who. Smooth Kitty was probably my favorite, but I also really like Stout Alice. I enjoyed watching both of their characters grow in the story.

I liked how the book started off. Julie Berry, the writer, introduced the girls in a roundabout way. She introduces “persons whom you will not meet in this narrative.” And through those introductions, you meet the girls and learn about their background.


The story really begins during a Sunday evening meal at St. Etheldreda’s School for Young Ladies. By page 2 of the book, two people are already dead! Who are the deceased? The headmistress and her brother. Who killed them? Read to find out! What do the girls do? Well, they didn’t call the police. They instead decided that they wanted to be a bit more independent and run the school themselves. In order to do that, they must convince everyone that the headmistress, Mrs. Plackett, and her brother are actually still alive.


Hilarity ensues as everything that can possibly go wrong does. From a surprise birthday party (which is more of a surprise to the girls) to their attempt to bury the bodies. As I said before, I thoroughly enjoyed this book and would definitely recommend it.


Oh, one last thing: the book I listened to was read by Jayne Entwistle. She did an excellent job and I highly recommend listening to her read it.

Leave a Reply

