The Girl With No Past by Kathryn Croft

the-girl-with-no-past

I received a free copy of this ebook from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

This book is about a young woman named Leah. She lives an almost reclusive life because of something that happened in her past. As she begins to try and get something more out of her life, she starts receiving threatening mail and emails concerning her past.

This book was just so-so to me. It started off well. I was kind of drawn to the main character Leah as I could relate to some of what she felt, although for different reasons. I used to be almost reclusive because of anxiety. I wanted a life, but I couldn’t really make myself do it, just like Leah. This kept me interested during the first part of the book. Also, I wanted to know what had happened in Leah’s past to make her live this way.

The front of the book said that this was a gripping psychological thriller…I did not get that when I read it. I was intrigued with wanting to find out her past, but I was not thrilled. There was a brief time toward the end were it finally gets more of that thriller quality, but even with that it still didn’t quite do it for me. There was one part I did really like though and that was the last chapter. I really did like that.

This is not the book for you if you do not like bad language and sex in your fiction. I don’t think there was anything real graphic with the sex, but the f word was used many times. I happen to not like that in my books.

Leave a Reply

