Back To Writing

I can’t believe I haven’t written a post in almost two years. And if I’m being honest, I haven’t really done any writing in all that time either. But I do have a good excuse this time. About three years ago my mother was diagnosed with cancer. I spent about 2 years taking care of her, especially the second year. After her two year battle, she passed away. That was about a year ago and I’m still having a rough time. Thankfully, I know my mother is now in Heaven with God and is much happier than any of us are now and I have such a wonderful and supportive family that has helped me through this painful experience.

Before all of this happened, I can remember watching a TV show or movie where a parent died and I tried to imagine what it felt like; I pretended like it was real and happening to me so that I could see what it must feel like for that character (Weird, I know. Who does that?). It was painful and I prayed that it would never happen to me, but that pain doesn’t even touch the pain I actually felt at the loss of my wonderful mother. It was so intense and severe; it still is.

Anyway, I haven’t felt much up to reading or writing or really a lot of the stuff that I used to like doing, but the last several months I’ve finally started getting back into the stuff I used to enjoy. The last couple of weeks I’ve really felt the urge to get back into writing. I feel like I might be able to actually come up with a plot and start writing my novel this time.

I went to the library and checked out some books on writing and am really enjoying reading them. Right now I’m reading Plot and Structure by James Scott Bell and am really enjoying it. It even has a section with twenty exercises to help come up with ideas. I feel like I’m learning a lot so I want to keep reading books like this while I write so I can get some book learning and practice to help me grow and improve as a writer.

Leave a Reply

