Day 6

It’s now day six of NaNoWriMo and I’m doing much better than I had thought I would. My word count is now 8,463, but I haven’t started my writing for today. It is such a great feeling to see your words and pages adding up. My problem has always been that I edit as a go along, and I never get very far. I think I wrote one novella when I was in school, but I’ve never been able to write something, besides that, longer than a short story until now. What really helped me to see what I was doing wrong was reading a book called “How to be a Writer” by Stewart Ferris. He lists and discusses what a person could do for 11 drafts, I think. I think I will follow his draft suggestions. He said that the first draft is pretty much going to be garbage, but that gives you something to work with. When I write, I try to get it perfect the first time around and then I end up not getting very far. With my novel I’m writing now, I’m not even attempting for it to be nice, I’m just writing some semblance of what I want to happen knowing that I will come back later to fix it.

The problem that I’m running into now is that I haven’t really come up with a plot. I came up with a lead in to whatever adventure is going to ensue, but I have no idea what that is going to be. Well, I have one tiny idea, but not an actual plot, just something that I want in the story. I need to think about it some more though, because it could lead to a plot.

Anyway, I’d better get to my writing for today so that I actually get it done. By the way, check out my game page! It’s at the top of the page next to the About page link. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

