NaNoWriMo

I decided that I was going to try writing every single day in September, so I, of course, missed the second day. Oh, well. I wrote on and off for a while, then off for a couple of weeks. October wasn’t any better, but in my defense, October was filled with doctor visits and a scary trip to the emergency room (not for me) so I didn’t have as much time this month.

I was going to start over yet again, but then I saw an article on National Novel Writing Month and realized that it starts in a week in a half! I’ve never done it before, but I would like to try it this time. So instead of trying to write every day until then, I’m going to try and make a final decision on the plot of my story (which I have worked on over the last couple of months). It’s an ambitious task, especially for me, but I would really like to give it a try. Is anyone else going to be doing it? I really hope I can finish; an article on WritersDigest.com says that only about 14 out of 100 people finish.

I actually have two basic plot ideas now, so I have to decide which one to use. I would combine them into one story, but they aren’t at all compatible. The first is one that I’ve been thinking about for a while, but I don’t have much. It’s a fantasy book that is set in a setting like Lord of the Rings type fantasy books. The other idea is science fiction. I enjoy fantasy more, but this idea is more fleshed out. I think I’ll try to come up with more for the fantasy novel in the next couple of days, then, if I can’t come up with anything, I’ll just do the science fiction book. There are still some crucial things to decide for that novel, but I think I have enough to actually start writing.

I’m going to get going now and get started on my fantasy novel plot. Wish me luck!

4 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo

  1. Good luck with it – I did it last year, may do this year too. I didn’t reach 50,000 words but I did 25,000 which I was happy with as I hadn’t planned anything!
    🙂

  2. I think you can totally be one of those 14 people, Becca!
    If you do get stuck writing one story, you can always switch to the other story and write there too! There’s no rules saying you can only write 1 plot, right?
    I’m super excited to see how you progress this coming month!!! =]
    [and im always here to yell–errr–encourage you to write on a daily basis! =P haha]

Leave a Reply

