Story World

I’ve been trying to write every day for 6 days now. My goal is to write either 200 words or for 10 minutes, whichever takes longer. I’ve been doing a really good job! I missed one day, but I made up for it the next day; I wrote over 1,000 words that day for about half an hour or so. Surely that should make up for missing one day! The other days, I exceeded my goal as well. Normally, I about doubled it.

For a couple of days, I wrote scenes that I envisioned might be in my novel, but most of the days I’ve just done some random writing. One day I even wrote an article about my trials on finding a job (mostly because of me and not the job market) instead of fiction.

I have also been doing some planning on my novel. I have started working on my story world (what the setting is called in a book called Writing Fiction for Dummies). I think my book is going to be a fantasy/mystery novel. I’m working on the physical world and also the types of races and creatures that will fill that world. Once I understand the cultures of the races and creatures that live in my story world, I will be able to get a better feel for my story and hopefully be able to figure out just what I want my plot to be.

I’ve started reading a book called The Crown of Eden by Thomas Williams. I’ve read it before, but it’s been a while. There are two books in this series with a prequel that was actually published after those two. I remember that I really liked the story and I loved the writing. I’m only about 5 pages into it, and I remember why I love the writing so much. It’s so beautiful! That is the way I want to write. So I’m trying to read through the book, not only for the story, but also for the writing.

Here’s what the back of the book says:

Aradon, a blacksmith’s apprentice, falls deeply in love with a beautiful but troubled maiden whom he meets in the heart of Braegan Wood. But his ecstasy turns to anguish when he learns that she is the Princess Volanna, fated by a hundred-year-old prophecy to wed Prince Lomar, the cruel and tyrannical heir to the throne.

Aradon discovers the key to breaking Lomar’s grip on the kingdom and winning the hand of his beloved Volanna. But the cost will be his own honor. He faces a wrenching choice between his deepest desire and his integrity, and the fate of the kingdom hangs on his decision.

One thought on “Story World

Leave a Reply

