The Pig Poets

I’m still doing pretty well making myself write. I’m not writing everyday yet, but I think that I will start trying that now. I wanted to work my way up to it, and I think that it’s about time. I’ve been going back and forth between working on my novel and working on some children’s poems. I’m actually getting some ideas that I like for my novel, but not a plot yet. I’ve been working more on my children’s poems. I have a few rough drafts that are completed or almost completed and then several more ideas. I really liked Shel Silverstein when I was a kid. If you don’t know who he is, you should definitely look at some of his books. He writes silly children’s poems. They’re pretty funny and I still enjoy them. They are my inspiration when I write my poems.

Continuing on a poetry theme, my cousin bought me a book years ago called The Pig Poets: Porcine Parody for Pig-Lovers! He bought me this book because I like poetry and pigs. It’s a really funny book. It takes popular poems and gives them a pig theme. Here’s an example of an original poem and its pig themed counterpart:

 

“To the Virgins, To Make Much of Time”

– Robert Herrick

 

Gather ye rosebuds while ye may,

Old time is still a-flying;

And this same flower that smiles today,

Tomorrow will be dying.

 

The glorious lamp of heaven, the sun,

The higher he’s a-getting,

The sooner will his race be run,

And nearer he’s to setting.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

“Council to Piglings”

– Robert Hedgepig

 

Snuffle ye truffles while ye can

Old Time is still a flying,

And somewhere surely hangs the Pan

That bits of ye will fry in.

 

That Frying Pan of Heaven the Sun

Will wink while ye are hissing,

So trot along and have some fun

While none of ye is missing.

 

Leave a Reply

