Yes, I’m Still Alive

Sorry it has been over a month since I have last posted. I still haven’t really accomplished much writing since my last post (hangs head in shame). I have scrapped every single idea I had before and am having trouble coming up with something else to write about. Usually I will sit in front of my computer or a notebook and just type random tidbits that come to mind, but I’m not particularly productive. I have tried once or twice just sitting in a chair in my room with no sound, closing my eyes, and just letting my mind wander. I think that is going to be the best way for me to come up with an idea, but I have a problem with that approach: I cannot keep still doing nothing for more than a couple of minutes (and even that is pushing it). My attention begins to wander and I want to put on a DVD or do something on my computer. My mind will go everywhere except where I want it to go. Needless to say, that is very frustrating. Maybe I just need to work my way up to doing that for longer periods of time. Maybe I should just start by willing myself to sit still in the quiet for five minutes the first time and then work my way up from there. Who knows, maybe that will work.

Does anyone else have any ideas on how to generate a plot for a novel?

I have been in something of a reading frenzy lately. The Hunger Games is all the rage right now and after having my best friend tell me to read the series (thanks you, Michaela) and my sister deciding to read it, I though t I would give it a try too. I wasn’t sure how I would like books about children being forced to kill each other. Needless to say, I was pretty sure that the book would be utterly depressing. Well, I read the series and I absolutely loved it!!! And while it was quite sad, it was not nearly as sad and depressing as I thought it would be (this is more in reference to the first book).  I will be seeing the movie before too long (I want to let the crowds die down a bit) and I hope that it lives up to the books.

One thought on “Yes, I’m Still Alive

Leave a Reply

