Books, Books, and more Books!

I know this is going to shock you, but please try to control your surprise: I have been procrastinating yet again. I know, shame on me, I’ve barely done much writing. I haven’t felt much like writing my children’s book, so I’ve taken a break and been working on my novel. I’ve actually made some progress, but I still only have part of my plot. I’m eager to have at least a vague idea of what I want my plot to be so that I can actually start writing it. I just need to make myself sit down for at least half an hour with no distractions and see what I can come up with. Okay, my goal for this next week is to spend at least 30 minutes every day on my writing. Surely I’ll be able to get something done (assuming I can beat my procrastination).

I’ve decided that I’m not going to only discuss my writing in this blog, I’m also going to talk about some of the books I’m reading or have read. First I’ll start with some of my favorite books. I am a fan of classic books and my favorite has to be Pride and Prejudice. I’ve literally read it dozens of times and I think it gets better each time. I had trouble getting through it the first time I read it, but once I did I fell in love with the book.

One of my all-time favorite series is the DragonKeeper Chronicles by Donita K. Paul. It’s a Christian fantasy series that I believe is written for young adults, but I still love it. The books center around a slave girl named Kale who is sent to the Hall when she discovers a dragon egg. From there, she is sent on several quests and adventures. I highly recommend this series. I think the second book, DragonQuest, is my favorite book in the series. I’ll tell you about some more of my favorite books in my next post.

Some of the books I’ve read lately have been the type of books where you know what’s going to happen, it’s not great literature, but it’s still an entertaining read. I do like books that make you think, but it’s also nice to read a book where you don’t have to think and can just get a simple, yet entertaining story.

I have read the first two books in a series that I am really enjoying: The Inheritance Cycle by Christopher Paolini. I had seen the movie Eragon and I didn’t mind it even though it got terrible reviews, but after reading the book, I can understand why the fans hated it. It does not even begin to do the book justice. I decided to try reading Eragon after reading about it on Owl City’s blog and I ended up loving the book. I’ve been reading the series on my nook through my local library. The problem with that is there’s a waiting list and I’ve been waiting a couple of weeks already to get the third book. I’m ready to read it already! If anyone has any suggestions of other good books for me to read, I’d love to hear about them.

Leave a Reply

