Changes

As I’ve written in previous posts, I am writing a children’s book. It centers around a squirrel and a few of her animal friends. After reading a chapter in Writing Picture Books, I’m changing that. The book recommended changing animal characters to human ones, or human characters to animal ones to see what that does for the story. I’ve decided that my story is going to have human children as the characters instead and I am going to have fewer characters in the book. The message of the story is the same; it’s just going to change from animals in a forest to children in a house. This change in my story has gotten the wheels moving in my head and I like the story a lot more now. I haven’t actually written a draft with this change, but I’m going to give it a go after Christmas. I’ll let you know how it goes.

That’s about all I’ve done since my last post. It’s been a busy couple of days and it’s going to be busy until Christmas. I’m not sure I’m going to have time to write until after the holidays. I have more shopping to do, cleaning, wrapping, finishing my knitted presents, all those sorts of pre-Christmas activities. So if I don’t write another post until after Christmas: Merry Christmas!!!

One thought on “Changes

Leave a Reply

