POV

Today I thought I would describe where I write. My desk is placed right in front of the window in my room so that I can look outside while I write. My window has a beautiful view. There is a road (which isn’t used much as it is the road into a small neighborhood) right outside. Just on the other side of that road is a fenced in area where the neighbors keep horses (unfortunately they aren’t out right now). Just behind that are some trees (I love trees). It is very picturesque and I absolutely love the view. I’m interested in the different places people like to write. Where do you like to write?

I haven’t done any of the ideas exercises since my last post, but I have been working on my children’s story using Writing Picture Books. Chapter 3 has you write your story from different POVs and gives some examples using the story of The Goose with the Golden Eggs. It was really interesting to see how Paul took the same story and wrote it from different POVs.

One of the exercises at the end of the chapter is to write your story in at least three different POVs. I started by rewriting my story in third-person narrative voice – multiple POV. That was how my story was originally written, but this version was a lot better than the first. I am now working on a version written in first person POV from the main character’s POV. This poses something of a problem though because my main character is not in part of the story. The next POV I try will be written as a letter from the POV of one of the main character’s friends. This character will also not be in the entire story, but he/she can tell what happened from hearsay. I may also try second person which puts the reader in the story using words like you. I’m really enjoying this exercise so far.

If anyone has any ideas on exercises I could try to help improve my writing or help generate ideas, I’d love to hear about them!

Leave a Reply

