Practice Makes Perfect

I know it has only been about a day or two since my last post, but I was hoping that I would have gotten more writing done. I try to tell myself that it’s because I have been so busy this weekend, but I’ve had plenty of time to play spider solitaire so I don’t think my excuse really counts.

Don’t worry though, it has been somewhat productive. I have begun this 12-day plan of simple writing exercises. I just did day three today. It feels nice knowing I’ve written something even if it is something as small as these exercises. I also did this word game where you write random words down on scraps of paper, pick out ten of the words randomly and then write a story using those words. My words were: blinds, notebook, fruity, tree, expedition, stunning, fireplace, colorful, inn, and old book (Although that last one is technically two words. Oh, well.). I have a very rough idea of the story and I’m going to go into more detail on it in the next couple of days.

The best thing I’ve done this weekend is come up with a children’s story that I like. I had something of an idea before, but I just couldn’t seem to get the plot where I wanted it, but I think I finally have something I like. I have this book from the library to help me called Writing Picture Books by Ann Whitford Paul. It’s a great book with some great tips. You take a rough draft of a story and the book will help you fine tune it. I’m excited to get my first draft down and go through the book with it! That is another thing that I’m hoping to do in the next couple of days (assuming I can resist the lure of spider solitaire).

I not only want to write children’s books, but I would also love to write novels. I’m thinking fantasy would be my preference. I think I’ll take a stab at my children’s book and then my novel afterward. I’m still a novice writer so I’m sure they’ll never get published, but they’ll be great practice for me in both genres. Practice makes perfect and I need a lot of practice.

Leave a Reply

